In the night Kitchen?

There’s a reason I named this blog Sushi and Stouts…namely because those are two of my favorite food items, all in all. Curries are also one of my all time favorite foods, but I couldn’t bring myself to break with the alliterative allure that Sushi and Stouts held over me. Having said that…

I’m not a beer connoisseur by any means. I’m a neophyte with a few decades of experience, who knows what he likes. I’ve had swill, I’ve had worse [malt liquor], and I’ve had better. I couldn’t tell you by taste whether a beer is high in hops, malt, barley, or any other ingredient in the brew. What I can tell you, however, is what I think I taste in a brew. It seems that lately everyone is all about the IPA’s and lagers. Lighter color beers are ok, there’s nothing wrong with them at all, but there’s something about a dark, rich, heavy stout (or porter) that just really appeals to me.

Breckenridge Brewery – Oatmeal Stout

First and foremost, that artwork. It’s on the bottles and the box, and it screamed “BUY ME, YOU BASTARD!” It reminded me a bit of some much older comics and books I had seen (or seen pictures of) in the past, such as Little Nemo in Slumberland, and In The Night Kitchen were the first two things that came to mind. Curiosity and nostalgia can be a strong combination for me.

So, I can’t tell you that there were any particularly strong or outstanding notes or flavors that really grabbed my attention. It was fairly smooth, and easy to drink. Almost too easy to drink, actually….not watered down or anything like that…more like you start drinking it and before you know it you’re three beers in. One of those.

So, would I recommend it? Yes, for around $9-10 for a 6 pack it’s a very nice treat for you and a friend, or just yourself over a few days. For those who imbibe on a regular basis I wouldn’t recommend it as a nightly beer, but then I wouldn’t say that about most stouts. Stouts, for me anyways, are a sometimes food. Thanks, Cookie-Monster.

Note: It took me almost a week to write this up, and when I started I was writing about the beer while drinking it. Haven’t purchased more to make this review a bit more….thorough and professional…ish? I need to learn to get it all out and done over a two night stretch, while I still have the beer handy to get my thoughts on it

Leave a Reply

